DIOCESE OF WAIKATO AND TARANAKI

STATUTE NO. 39

THE SHARED DIOCESAN EPISCOPACY STATUTE 2007

[Updated to 2017]

The Synod of the Diocese of Waikato enacts as follows -

1. <u>TITLE</u>

This Statute is The Shared Diocesan Episcopacy Statute 2007.

2. PURPOSE

The purpose of this Statute is to enable the jurisdiction of the Diocesan Bishop to be shared by two Bishops, with each of them having full Episcopal jurisdiction within his or her own Bishopric.

3. <u>COMMENCEMENT</u>

This Statute will come into force on the date on which the Shared Diocesan Episcopacy Authorisation Statute 2006, passed by the General Synod/te Hīnota Whānui of this Church, is confirmed and comes into effect, but shall not otherwise become effective.

4. FORMATION OF BISHOPRICS

- (1) There shall be two Bishoprics within the Diocese, one to be known as the Bishopric of Waikato, and the other to be known as the Bishopric of Taranaki.
- (2) The Bishopric of Waikato shall comprise the Archdeaconries of Piako, Waikato and Waitomo and shall be based at the Cathedral Church of St Peter in Hamilton. The Bishop shall be titled the Bishop of Waikato.
- (3) The Bishopric of Taranaki shall comprise the Archdeaconry of Taranaki and shall be based at the Cathedral Church of St Mary in New Plymouth. The Bishop shall be titled the Bishop of Taranaki.

5. EPISCOPAL JURISDICTION

- (1) Each Bishop shall have full Episcopal jurisdiction within his or her own Bishopric and each Bishop shall be the Vicar General within the Bishopric of the other. The Diocesan Bishops shall appoint a Deputy Vicar General.
- (2) Wherever any provision of a Statute of the Diocese of Waikato or any provision of a Canon or Statute of this Church refers to the Episcopal jurisdiction of the Diocesan Bishop, such provision shall be read as providing for the sharing of such jurisdiction by the Bishops in the Diocese.
- (3) Where any decision of the Diocesan Bishop is required under the Constitution/te Pouhere, the Canons or Statutes of this Church, the Bishops shall make such decision together, provided that if the Bishops cannot agree, the decision of the Bishop longest serving as Bishop in the Diocese shall be determinative.

(4) Notwithstanding the foregoing, during the absence of a Bishop from New Zealand or during an interregnum, the other Bishop shall be the sole Diocesan Bishop as well as the Bishop of each Bishopric.